retrocharmstar

Don’t Get Lost In Your Persona

In Culture, Family, Friends, Relationships on May 11, 2012 at 2:38 pm

“The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don’t let them put you in that position.” ― Leo Buscaglia

I am silly, I can’t stay upset for long, I love kung fu movies, I read a lot, I don’t watch television, I’m lovable, I’m honest, I have a strange laugh and I laugh loudly and I am a lot of other things which I don’t have the space to type or haven’t completely figured out yet. But what I love most about myself is my ability to remain true to who I am and act the same way with my beau, family, friends, acquaintances, business partners, etc. It is important to be true and honest to yourself. You will feel better about yourself and the people who should be drawn to you will be drawn to you. However, if you must put on a charade at times be sure to not get lost in your persona.

  1. Is it better to commit to who you think you are or who you want to be?

    • excellent question! It is probably a little bit of both. Nothing is simply black and white, especially when it comes to defining one’s self. Everyone has a past which means that you can’t just forget about your “old” self or who you might be. So at a certain level, you are always striving to be who you want to be. It becomes complicated when who you want to be doesn’t match up with who you are. But what if who you are is someone you don’t want to be? Life is complicated….

      • I say commit to whichever of the two are in your best interests in terms of developing yourself into a happy and healthy person. I know so many people (men and women) who put on a facade that they can’t even keep up with. I’m just asking people to be consistent and stay true to themselves. As Justtae said, it’s not simple. And I think that if you are someone who you don’t want to be (like someone with self-destructive behavior for example) you have to work on changing yourself before it negatively impacts your life and the lives of the people you love.

Leave a Reply

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

giorge thomas

it is what it is

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Legacy Health Solutions

Corporate Health Consultants

Cheeni Thoughts

a lifestyle blog!

Workout Plans and Practice Exams

The every day life of a 20-something college student with too many things to do.

